New Horizons for Women Trust provides awards that benefit women and/or girls. Each year the Trust provides a number of second-chance education, research and specific purpose awards.

The awards site is now closed for all 2017 awards

Results are advised by mid-June with awardees receiving their awards at a NHWT ceremony scheduled from July to early August. For more information about each award select the award group below and then select 'more info'.

Applications for 2018 are made online only and only during the six weeks starting 1st March 2018. We are not accepting any further applications for 2017. 


There are two types of Second-Chance Education Awards:

  • Foundation Study Awards ($1,000)
  • Diploma and Degree Study Awards ($3,000 to $4,000).


Second-Chance Education Awards are for women aged 25 or over, who are engaging in tertiary education later in life at a foundation studies or diploma/degree level, and who do not already have a tertiary qualification.

Second-Chance Education Awards are also available for women under 25 years of age who meet EITHER of the following enrollment criteria:

  • are enrolled in a NZ approved tertiary qualification in tertiary education at a foundation studies or diploma/degree level, and who do not already have a tertiary qualification.
  • are now enrolled in a NZ approved tertiary qualification and studying at a foundation studies or diploma/degree level level, after recently returning to secondary school studies to gain University Entrance, after a gap in their schooling.

In all categories, the awards are a one-off grant to help with study and/or living expenses.

Contact Details:

Research Awards aim to support women who are conducting research that benefits women and/or girls in Aotearoa New Zealand. The awards are a one-off grant to help with research and/or living expenses.

In 2017 NHWT will offer four (4) research awards, valued up to $5,000 plus an additional co-funded research award valued at $10,000 with Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga , New Zealand's Māori Centre for Research Excellence.


2017 Research Awards:

  • Wāhine Ora: Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga New Horizons for Women Trust Research Award.
  • NZ Federation of Graduate Women Wellington Branch Research Awards (2)
  • Margaret Shields Research Award
  • Ria McBride Research Award 

Contact Details:

Specific Purpose Awards are available for women to study or develop an initiative with a specific purpose.


In 2017, NHWT is offering eleven (11) Specific Purpose Awards:

  • Margaret L Bailey Science Award - one award for $5,000
  • Career Change Awards - at least two awards for $3,000
  • Sonja Davies Peace Award - one award up to $4,000
  • Teupoko'ina Utanga Morgan Memorial Award - one award up to $5,000
  • Ria McBride Public Service Management Award - one award for $15,000
  • Zonta Club of South Auckland Trades Award- one award for $1,500
  • Graduate Women Manawatu Charitable Trust Refugee Study Award- one award for $3,000
  • Refugee Award sponsored by The Second Chance Group Wellington - one award for $3,750

Plus 2 new co-sponsored awards funded by Outward Bound NZ and the Alexandra Kilpatrick Bequest administered by NHWT.


Special announcements for 2017
In 2017, we are delighted to announce that Outward Bound NZ will co-sponsor two new Specific Purpose awards with support from the Alexandra Kilpatrick Bequest, administered by NHWT.

  • Discovery Outward Bound Course - an 8-day course for women aged 27 years and over - valued at $2,500.
  • Classic Outward Bound Course - a 21-day course for women aged between 18 and 26 years of age - valued at $4,100
  • NOTE: Award names still to be confirmed

Contact Details: