Outward Bound Classic Course Award Sponsored by Outward Bound NZ and New Horizons for Women Trust: Hine Kahukura

Awards: One award of $4350 plus expenses*
Open:1 March to 15 April 2020
Awards advised: Mid-June 2020
Awards-made: July and August 2020

The $4,350 Award covers the Outward Bound course fee, travel expenses to Anakiwa in the Marlborough Sounds and costs associated with completing a medical assessment for the successful applicant.

Purpose of the awards
The Outward Bound Classic Course Award offers a personal development opportunity for a woman who is planning to return to education and / or training.

Eligibility criteria
To apply for a 2020 twenty one (21) day Outward Bound Classic Course Award you must meet all the following eligibility criteria:
The applicant is a woman, who:

  • Is 18-26 years as at 15 April 2020
  • Is available during 2020 to attend a 21 day Outward Bound Classic Course-dates to be negotiated with awardee (scheduled monthly courses)
  • Can confidently run 3km in under 25 minutes and complete a full day’s activity
  • Is willing to go smokefree at Outward Bound if normally a smoker
  • Is confident in water and comfortable putting head underwater
  • Is willing to fully disclose all medical and criminal histories
  • Has not previously received a NHWTHK Second-Chance Education Study Award or attended an Outward Bound Course

Note: The following link will give you a general idea about this particular course www.outwardbound.co.nz/courses/classic/

Selection criteria                                                                                                                                                                                                          When selecting awardees, the selection panel consider the following:

  • Meets eligibility criteria
  • Previous achievements
  • Education and/or training plans
  • Rationale for receiving the award
  • Personal circumstances

How to apply for an award                                                                                                                                                                                                If you are eligible for this award please complete the online application form.